Speaker of the Event: Highlights the Most Amazing Session at SXSW Interactive

See the List of 2016 Winners

Every March, hundreds of the world's most brilliant thinkers converge on Austin to speak at SXSW Interactive. Singling out just one of these industry experts for "Speaker of the Event" honors can be a daunting task for the SXSW Interactive staff.

Honored at the SXSW Interactive Innovation Awards, our selection process for this award relies heavily on the three values that continue to shape SXSW — innovation, creativity, and inspiration.

We are extremely proud of the five individuals who have garnered this "Speaker of the Event" prize to date.

2016 — Dr. Brené Brown

2015 — Martine Rothblatt

2014 — Neil deGrasse Tyson

2013 — Cory Booker

2012 — Stephen Wolfram

2011 — Jane McGonigal