

P.O. Box 685289 | Austin, Texas | 78768 T: 512.467.7979 | F: 512.451.0754

sxsw.com

SXSW FILM FESTIVAL ANNOUNCES 2016 JURY AND SPECIAL AWARDS

Austin, Texas – March 15, 2016 – The South by Southwest® (SXSW®) Film Conference and Festival announced the 2016 Jury and Special Award-winners at the SXSW Film Awards Presented by Panasonic at the historic Paramount Theatre. The awards were hosted by Mike Birbiglia, director of *Don't Think Twice*, which debuted at SXSW on Sunday, March 13. Feature Films receiving Jury Awards were selected from the Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature Competition categories. Films in these categories, as well as all feature categories (with the exception of Special Events), and the Title Design Competition entrants, are also eligible for 2016 SXSW Film Festival Audience Awards. All Audience Awards will be announced separately on Saturday, March 19. SXSW also announced the Jury Award-winners in Shorts Filmmaking and winners of the SXSW Film Design Awards, as well as Special Awards, including the Louis Black "Lone Star" Award and the SXSW Gamechanger Award. SXSW continues showing films through Saturday, March 19, details can be found at <u>sxsw.com/film</u>.

The 2016 SXSW Film Festival Juries consisted of:

Narrative Feature Competition: Lindsey Bahr, Richard Brody, Alonso Duralde Documentary Feature Competition: David Edelstein, Jen Yamato, Stephanie Zacharek Shorts Program: Frances Bodomo, Sarah Lash, Jason Sondhi Documentary Shorts: Liz Cook, Kathleen Lingo, Amanda Salazar Animated Shorts: Tom Brown, Geoff Marslett, Leah Shore Midnight Shorts: Owen Egerton, Michael Lerman, PJ Raval Music Videos: Toby Halbrooks, Doug Klinger, John T. Kunz Texas Shorts: Kat Candler, Laura Kincaid, Travis Mathews Texas High School Shorts: Marcy Garriott, Bob Ray, Bart Weiss Louis Black "Lone Star": John DeFore, Victor Diaz, Christy Lemire Title Sequence Design: Henry Hobson, Dan Brown, Ron Pippin Poster Design: Sean Carnegie, Danny Parker, Tim League Over the course of nine days, the 2016 SXSW Film Festival will screen over 143 features, consisting of 89 World Premieres, 12 North American Premieres and 8 U.S. Premieres, with 52 first-time filmmakers. 114 shorts will screen as part of ten curated shorts programs. The 253 films were selected from 7,240 overall submissions, consisting of approximately 2,456 features and 4,784 shorts. Meanwhile the SXSW Film Conference will have presented 200+ Film Sessions (Panels, Workshops, Keynotes, Conversations, Networking Meetups and Mentors) plus an additional 450+ Convergence sessions open to more than one badge, including Future of Entertainment and VR/AR Tracks.

The 2016 SXSW Film Festival Awards:

Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION

Winner: *The Arbalest* Director: Adam Pinney

Special Jury Recognition for Best Actor: Hunter Gatherer

Actor: Andre Royo

Special Jury Recognition for Best Actress: Miss Stevens

Actress: Lily Rabe

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE COMPETITION

Winner: *TOWER* Director: Keith Maitland

Special Jury Recognition for Portrait Documentary: *Accidental Courtesy: Daryl Davis, Race & America* Director: Matt Ornstein

Special Jury Recognition for Cinematography: *The Seer* Cinematographer: Lee Daniel

Short Film Grand Jury Awards

Presented by OneFifty, a content incubator from Time Warner Inc.

NARRATIVE SHORTS Winner: How Was Your Day? Director: Damien O'Donnell

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: *Thunder Road* Actor: Jim Cummings

Special Jury Recognition for Writing: Greener Grass Writers: Jocelyn DeBoer & Dawn Luebbe

DOCUMENTARY SHORTS Winner: *These C*cksucking Tears* Director: Dan Taberski

Special Jury Recognition: Dollhouse Director: Terri Timely

MIDNIGHT SHORTS Winner: MANOMAN Director: Simon Cartwright

Special Jury Recognition: Don't tell Mom Director: Sawako Kabuki

ANIMATED SHORTS Winner: *Glove* Directors: Alexa Lim Haas & Bernardo Britto

Special Jury Recognition: Pombo Loves You Director: Steve Warne MUSIC VIDEOS Winner: Childish Gambino - "Sober" Director: Hiro Murai

TEXAS SHORTS Winner: *The Send-Off* Directors: Ivete Lucas & Patrick Bresnan

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: *1985* Actress: Lindsay Pulsipher

TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORTS Winner: *Lady of Paint Creek* Director: Alexia Salingaros

Special Jury Recognition: *The Archer Hadley Story* Directors: Ben Root & Alex Treviño

SXSW Film Design Awards

EXCELLENCE IN POSTER DESIGN Winner: Miss Me: *The Artful Vandal*

Designer: MissMe

Special Jury Recognition: *Night Stalker* Designer: New Media Ltd

Special Jury Recognition: *Eat My Shit* Designer: Octavio Terol

EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN

Winner: *Sunstone* Director: Aimée Duchamp SXSW Special Awards

SXSW Gamechanger Award

Winner: *My Blind Brother* Director: Sophie Goodhart

Louis Black "Lone Star" Award Winner: *TOWER* Director: Keith Maitland

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship Presented to: Eileen Meyer

Film Stills, Director Headshots can be found at: http://fif.sxsw.com/media

About SXSW Film

Now in its 23rd year, SXSW Film brings together creatives of all stripes over nine days to experience a diverse film line up and access to more than 550+ Conference sessions with visionaries from all corners of the entertainment and media industries. SXSW 2016 takes place March 11-20 in Austin, TX.

The South by Southwest® (SXSW®) Conferences & Festivals offer the unique industry convergence of music, film, and Interactive technologies. Fostering creative and professional growth, SXSW is the premier destination for discovery. The event is a launch pad for innovative content with new media presentations, music showcases and film screenings providing exposure for creators and compelling entertainment for attendees. For more information, please visit <u>sxsw.com</u>.

SXSW March 11-20 | Interactive March 11-15 | Film March 11-19 | Music March 15-20

SXSW is proud to be an official qualifying festival for the Academy Awards® Short Film competition. The Best Narrative Short, Best Documentary Short and Best Animated Short winners become eligible for the Academy Awards.

SXSW 2016 is sponsored by Esurance, Mazda, Monster Energy, Capital One, Bud Light, McDonalds and *The Austin Chronicle*.

###

Contact: Jody Arlington filmpress@sxsw.com (512) 467-7979 x 241