

# \*\*\*UPDATED AS OF 3/18\*\*\*

# SXSW FILM FESTIVAL ANNOUNCES 2015 JURY & SPECIAL AWARDS

**Austin, Texas – March 17, 2015** – The Jury and Special Award-winners of the 2015 South by Southwest (SXSW) Film Conference and Festival were announced tonight at the Festival's Awards Ceremony at the historic Paramount Theatre. The awards were hosted by *Saturday Night Live's* Vanessa Bayer, who is also in *Trainwreck*, which had its work-in-progress debut at SXSW on Sunday, March 15. Feature Films receiving Jury Awards were selected from the Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature Competition categories. Films in these categories, as well as all feature categories (with the exception of Special Events), and the Poster and Title Design Competition entrants, are also eligible for 2015 SXSW Film Festival Audience Awards. All Audience Awards will be announced separately on Saturday, March 21.

SXSW also announced the Jury Award-winners in Shorts Filmmaking and winners of the SXSW Film Design Awards, as well as Special Awards, including the Louis Black "Lone Star" Award and the SXSW Gamechanger Award.

SXSW continues showing films through Saturday, March 21, details can be found at sxsw.com/film.

#### The 2015 SXSW Film Festival Juries consisted of:

Narrative Feature Competition: Kyle Buchanan, Wesley Morris, Krista Smith

Documentary Feature Competition: Tabitha Jackson, Jason Spingarn-Koff, Alison Willmore

Shorts Program: Jeffrey Bowers, Eric Allen Hatch, Lisa Ogdie Documentary Shorts: Gina Duncan, Charlie Phillips, Sara Rüster Animated Shorts: Bernardo Britto, Katie Krentz, Mark Shapiro Midnight Shorts: Kristen Bell, Roxanne Benjamin, Mette-Marie Katz

Music Videos: John T. Kunz, Maria Reinup, Kelsey Wilson Texas Shorts: Katy Daiger Dial, Chris Ohlson, Kelly Williams Texas High School Shorts: Bob Ray, Emily Hagins, Bart Weiss Louis Black "Lone Star": Victor Diaz, Marcy Garriott, Joe Leydon Title Sequence Design: Simon Clowes, Karin Fong, Ben Radatz

Poster Design: Sean Carnegie, Tim League, Kevin Tong

Over the course of nine days, the 2015 SXSW Film Festival will screen over 150 features, consisting of 102 World Premieres, 14 North American Premieres and 11 U.S. Premieres with 62 first-time directors. 106 shorts will screen as part of 10 curated shorts programs. The 257 films were selected from a record number of overall submissions, nearly 7500, comprised of approximately 2426 features and 4935 shorts, with an overall increase of 13% over 2014.

#### The 2015 SXSW Film Festival Awards:

# **Feature Film Jury Awards**

#### NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION

**Grand Jury Winner:** *KRISHA* Director: Trey Edward Shults

**Special Jury Recognition for Visual Excellence**: Creative Control

Director: Benjamin Dickinson

#### **DOCUMENTARY FEATURE COMPETITION**

**Grand Jury Winner:** Peace Officer

Directors: Scott Christopherson, Brad Barber

Special Jury Recognition for Directing: A Woman Like Me

Directors: Alex Sichel, Elizabeth Giamatti

**Special Jury Recognition for Editing:** *Twinsters* 

Editor: Jeff Consiglio

### **Short Film Jury Awards**

# **NARRATIVE SHORTS**

Winner: Pink Grapefruit Director: Michael Mohan

Special Jury Recognition: Share

Director: Pippa Bianco

### **DOCUMENTARY SHORTS**

Winner: Boxeadora
Director: Meg Smaker

#### **MIDNIGHT SHORTS**

Winner: Kiss Kiss Fingerbang Director: Gillian Wallace Horvat

# **ANIMATED SHORTS**

**Winner:** *World of Tomorrow* Director: Don Hertzfeldt

**Special Jury Recognition:** *teeth* Directors: Daniel Gray, Tom Brown

#### **MUSIC VIDEOS**

Winner: Paolo Nutini - "Iron Sky"

Director: Daniel Wolfe

**Special Jury Recognition:** DJ Snake featuring Lil' Jon - "Turn Down for What"

Director: DANIELS

**TEXAS SHORTS** 

**Winner:** *The Samaritans* Director: John Bryant

# **TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORTS**

Winner: It's A Thing

Directors: Meredith Morran, Sage McCommas

# **SXSW Film Design Awards**

# **EXCELLENCE IN POSTER DESIGN**

Winner: Manson Family Vacation

Designer: Yen Tan

Special Jury Recognition: The Ecstasy of Wilko Johnson

Designer: Jonny Halifax

### **EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN**

Winner: Manhattan

Designer: Dan Gregoras for Imaginary Forces

**Special Jury Recognition:** *The Fitzroy* Designers: Chris Tozer, Marko Anstice

### **SXSW Special Awards**

**SXSW Gamechanger Award** 

Winner: Yvonne Kerékgyártó, Free Entry

Louis Black "Lone Star" Award

Winner: Western

Directors: Bill Ross, Turner Ross

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

Presented to: Anna Gustavi

SXSW 2015 is sponsored by Miller Lite, Esurance, AT&T, IFC, Mazda, Monster Energy, McDonald's, Capital One, Pepsi and The Austin Chronicle.

# **About SXSW Film**

Every March, creatives of all stripes gather in Austin to witness, share and inspire the visions that will galvanize the filmmakers and ideas of tomorrow. SXSW Film Conference & Festival champions the vitality, innovation and opportunity that drives the entertainment and media landscape, and boldly tackles the evolution of all aspects of "film" today, down to its very definition. A nexus of discovery and collaborative energy, SXSW Film celebrates the art and business of the possible.

# # #

**Contact:** Shara Storch

Film Press & Publicity <a href="mailto:filmpress@sxsw.com">filmpress@sxsw.com</a>

619.548.4925 (cell phone during SXSW)