

SXSW FILM FESTIVAL ANNOUNCES 2017 AUDIENCE AND VIRTUAL CINEMA JURY AWARD WINNERS

Austin, Texas – March 18, 2017 – The South by Southwest® (SXSW®) Conference and Festivals today announced the Audience Award winners from the Narrative Feature Competition, Documentary Feature Competition, Headliners, Narrative Spotlight, Documentary Spotlight, Visions, Midnighters, Episodic, 24 Beats Per Second, Global, Festival Favorites and Design Award categories. Audience Award results for all categories were certified by the accounting firm of Maxwell Locke & Ritter. Also announced were the Virtual Cinema Jury Award Winners. The SXSW Film Awards are presented by FilmStruck.

The Audience Awards follow the previously announced 2017 Jury Awards, which included Grand Jury Winners *Most Beautiful Island* for Narrative Feature and *The Work* for Documentary Feature. For the complete list of 2017 Award Winners, visit <u>sxsw.com/film</u>.

Over the course of nine days, the 2017 SXSW Film Festival screened 130 features, consisting of 84 World Premieres, 14 North American Premieres, and 5 US Premieres, with 54 first-time filmmakers. 128 shorts screened as part of 12 curated shorts programs. The 258 films were selected from 7,651 overall submissions, consisting of approximately 2,432 features and 4,975 shorts.

2017 SXSW Film Festival Audience Award Winners:

NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION Audience Award Winner: *The Light of the Moon* Director: Jessica M. Thompson

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: Dealt Director: Luke Korem HEADLINERS Audience Award Winner: Baby Driver Director: Edgar Wright

NARRATIVE SPOTLIGHT Audience Award Winner: Mr. Roosevelt Director: Noël Wells

DOCUMENTARY SPOTLIGHT Audience Award Winner: *The Untold Tales of Armistead Maupin* Director: Jennifer M. Kroot

VISIONS Audience Award Winner: Becoming Bond Director: Josh Greenbaum

MIDNIGHTERS Audience Award Winner: 68 Kill Director: Trent Haaga

EPISODIC Audience Award Winner: *Dear White People* Director: Justin Simien

24 BEATS PER SECOND Audience Award Winner: May It Last: A Portrait of the Avett Brothers Directors: Judd Apatow and Michael Bonfiglio

GLOBAL Audience Award Winner: Divine Divas Director: Leandra Leal

FESTIVAL FAVORITES Audience Award Winner: The Big Sick Director: Michael Showalter

SXSW Film Design Awards

EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN

Audience Award Winner: Into The Current

Directors: Chris R. Moberg and Jared Young

Virtual Cinema Grand Jury Awards

VIRTUAL REALITY: ROOM-SCALE

Winner: *After Solitary* Directors: Cassandra Herrman, Lauren Mucciolo

Special Jury Recognition for Innovative Use of Virtual Reality Technology in the Field of Health: *Reinvent*

Directors: Ian Forester, Sook-lei Liew, PhD

360° VIDEO

Winner: Behind the Fence

Directors: Lindsay Branham, Jonathan Olinger

Special Jury Recognition for Technical Excellence: Dreams of "O"

Directors: Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël

As today is the final day of SXSW Film, additional screenings have been scheduled for this evening for all Audience Award winners except Episodic and Headliners:

Audience Award: 24 Beats Per Second

May It Last: A Portrait of the Avett Brothers 3/18/2017, Alamo Ritz 2, 4:00 PM

Audience Award: Documentary Feature Competition

Dealt 3/18/2017, Alamo Lamar A, 4:00 PM

Audience Award: Documentary Spotlight

The Untold Tales of Armistead Maupin 3/18/2017, Stateside Theatre, 7:30 PM

Audience Award: Festival Favorites

The Big Sick 3/18/2017, Alamo Ritz 1, 2:30 PM

Audience Award: Midnighters

68 Kill 3/18/2017, Alamo Lamar A, 11:00 PM

Audience Award: Narrative Feature Competition

The Light of the Moon 3/18/2017, Alamo Lamar A, 1:30 PM

Audience Award: Narrative Spotlight

Mr. Roosevelt 3/18/2017, Alamo Ritz 1, 5:30 PM

Audience Award: Global

Divine Divas 3/18/2017, Alamo Ritz 2, 1:00 PM

Audience Award: Visions

Becoming Bond 3/18/2017, Alamo Ritz 2, 7:00 PM Film Stills and Director Headshots can be found at: http://fif.sxsw.com/media

About SXSW

SXSW dedicates itself to helping creative people achieve their goals. Founded in 1987 in Austin, Texas, SXSW is best known for its conference and festivals that celebrate the convergence of the interactive, film and music industries. The event, an essential destination for global professionals, features sessions, showcases, screenings, exhibitions, and a variety of networking opportunities. SXSW proves that the most unexpected discoveries happen when diverse topics and people come together.

SXSW is proud to be an official qualifying festival for the Academy Awards® Short Film Competition. The Best Narrative Short, Best Documentary Short and Best Animated Short winners become eligible for the Academy Awards.

SXSW 2017 is sponsored by Esurance, Mazda, Monster Energy, Bud Light, Capital One, McDonald's, and The Austin Chronicle.

###

Press Contact: Jody Arlington, <u>filmpress@sxsw.com</u>, (512) 467-7979