

SXSW FILM & TV FESTIVAL ANNOUNCES 2023 AUDIENCE AWARD WINNERS

Austin, Texas – March 20, 2023 – The South by Southwest® (SXSW®) Conference and Festivals announced the Audience Award winners for the 30th SXSW Film & TV Festival today. The Audience Awards follow the previously-announced 2023 Jury Awards. For the complete list of 2023 Award Winners, visit www.sxsw.com/festivals/film-awards/. Audience Award Winners were certified by Maxwell Locke & Ritter LLP.

Over the course of nine days the 2023 Film & TV program includes 110 features including 75 World Premieres, 3 International Premieres, 9 North American Premieres, 6 U.S. Premieres, 16 Texas Premieres + 63 Short films, 20 Music Videos, 12 TV Premieres, 3 TV Spotlight, 7 Independent TV Pilots, and 35 XR Experience projects.

Films in the SXSW 2023 lineup screened in the following categories: Headliners; Narrative Feature Competition presented by Panavision; Documentary Feature Competition presented by ACE91; Narrative Spotlight; Documentary Spotlight; Visions; Midnighters; Global presented by MUBI; 24 Beats Per Second; and Festival Favorites. The Episodic program consisted of TV Premieres, TV Spotlight and the Independent TV Pilot Competition. The SXSW 2023 Shorts Film Program presented by IMDbPro featured six competitive sections: Narrative Shorts; Documentary Shorts; Animated Shorts; Midnight Shorts; Texas Shorts; and Music Videos. Our XR Experience Competition, Spotlight and Special Events programming were held in-person with a selection of works held virtually. All categories were eligible for section-specific Audience Awards.

Select SXSW 2023 event content is available to registrants on the SXSW Online Schedule and SXSW TV app. A full list of available content can be found here.

2023 SXSW Film & TV Festival Audience Award Winners:

HEADLINERS

Audience Award Winner: Flamin' Hot

Director: Eva Longoria, Producer: DeVon Franklin, Screenwriters: Linda Yvette Chávez, Lewis

Colick

NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION presented by Panavision

Audience Award Winner: *Mustache*

Director/Screenwriter: Imran J. Khan, Producers: Christina Won, Jessica Sittig,

Christopher Storer, Tyson Bidner

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE COMPETITION presented by ACE91

Audience Award Winner: Geoff McFetridge: Drawing a Life

Director/Producer: Dan Covert, Screenwriters: Erik Auli, Dan Covert, Amy Dempsey,

Tara Rose Stromberg

NARRATIVE SPOTLIGHT

Audience Award Winner: The Long Game

Director: Julio Quintana, Producers: Javier Chapa, Ben Howard, Marla Quintana, Dennis Quaid, Laura Quaid, Screenwriters: Julio Quintana, Jennifer C. Stetson, Paco

Farias

DOCUMENTARY SPOTLIGHT

Audience Award Winner: The Herricanes

Director: Olivia Kuan, Producers: James Lee Hernandez, Brian Lazarte, Lisa France,

James Short, Olivia Kuan, Justin Baldoni, Andrew Calof

VISIONS

Audience Award Winner: Tobacco Barns

Director/Screenwriter: Rocío Mesa, Producers: Olmo Figueredo González-Quevedo,

Jana Díaz-Juhl, Pau Brunet, Belén Sánchez

MIDNIGHTERS

Audience Award Winner: It Lives Inside

Director: Bishal Dutta, Producers: Raymond Mansfield, Sean McKittrick, Screenwriters:

Bishal Dutta, Ashish Mehta

GLOBAL presented by MUBI

Audience Award Winner: Ek Jagah Apni

Directors: Ektara Collective, Producers: Ektara Collective, Lotus Visual Productions,

Screenwriters: Rinchin, Maheen Mirza

24 BEATS PER SECOND

Audience Award Winner: Louder Than You Think

Director: Jed I. Rosenberg, Producers: Jeffrey Lewis Clark, Brian Thalken, Kelly Thomas,

Screenwriters: Jed I. Rosenberg, Greg King

FESTIVAL FAVORITES

Audience Award Winner: No Ordinary Campaign

Director: Christopher Burke, Producer: Tim Rummel, Christopher Burke

Shorts Film Program presented by IMDbPro

NARRATIVE SHORTS COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: Closing Dynasty

Director/Screenwriter: Lloyd Lee Choi, Producers: Jon Hsu, Lloyd Lee Choi

DOCUMENTARY SHORTS COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: Năi Nai & Wài Pó (Grandma & Grandma)

Director: Sean Wang, Producers: Sean Wang, Sam Davis

ANIMATED SHORTS COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: Sandwich Cat

Director/Screenwriter: David Fidalgo, Producers: Daniel Rodriguez, Laura Doval,

Gonzalo E. Veloso

MIDNIGHT SHORTS COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: Dead Enders

Directors: Fidel Ruiz-Healy, Tyler Walker, Screenwriters: Fidel Ruiz-Healy, Tyler Walker, Jordan Michael Blake, Conor Murphy, Producers: Raven Jensen, Amanda Crown, Gregory Barnes, Conor Murphy, Nico Alvo, Jordan Michael Blake, Eduardo Ruiz-Healy

TEXAS SHORTS COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: Breaking Silence

Directors: Amy Bench, Annie Silverstein, Producers: Monique Walton, Amy Bench

MUSIC VIDEO COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: *Drew Ashby - 'HER'*

Directors: Chris Scholar, Bevin Brown, Producer: Bevin Brown

TV Program

TV PREMIERES

Audience Award Winner: *The Luckiest Guy in the World* Director: Steve James, Producers: Zak Piper, Steve James

TV SPOTLIGHT

Audience Award Winner: Blindspotting Season 2 Premiere

Showrunner: Rafael Casal, Directors: Rafael Casel, Jess Wu Calder, Producers: Rafael Casal, Daveed Diggs, Jess Wu Calder, Keith Calder, Emily Gerson Saines, Ken Lee, Tim Palen

INDEPENDENT TV PILOT COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: *Notarize Me*

Director: Erika Rankin, Screenwriters/Producers: Erika Rankin, Brigitte Valdez

XR Experience

XR EXPERIENCE COMPETITION

Audience Award Winner: *JFK Memento*

Director: Chloé Rochereuil, Producer: Victor Agulhon

XR EXPERIENCE SPOTLIGHT

Audience Award Winner: MLK: Now is the Time

Director: Limbert Fabian, Producers: Matthew O'Rourke, Sulivan Parker, Screenwriter:

Andrina Wekontash Smith

XR EXPERIENCE SPECIAL EVENTS

Audience Award Winners (three-way tie):

Neo-Wulin: The Era of Black Ark

Director/Screenwriter: Guanyu, Producers: Chenchenchen, Bingbing Wang

Ristband

Directors: Anne McKinnon, Roman Rappak

Soundwaves: A Metaverse Music Concert

Directors: YOOM, Active Theory

Film Stills can be found at: https://filmmaker.sxsw.com/media

Publicists for projects in program: Publicists List

About SXSW Film & TV Festival

Now in its 30th year, SXSW Film & TV Festival brings together creatives of all stripes over nine days to experience a diverse lineup and access to the SXSW Music and Comedy Festivals plus SXSW Conference sessions with visionaries from all corners of the entertainment, media, and technology industries.

About SXSW

SXSW dedicates itself to helping creative people achieve their goals. Founded in 1987 in Austin, Texas, SXSW is best known for its conference and festivals that celebrate the convergence of tech, film, music, education, and culture. An essential destination for global professionals, the annual March event features sessions, music and comedy showcases, film

screenings, exhibitions, professional development and a variety of networking opportunities. SXSW proves that the most unexpected discoveries happen when diverse topics and people come together. For more information, please visit sxsw.com. To register for the event, please visit sxsw.com/attend.

SXSW 2023 is sponsored by White Claw, Volkswagen, Itaú bank, C4 Energy, Slack, McDonald's Spotlight Dorado, and *The Austin Chronicle*

###

Press Contacts:

Jody Arlington
Elizabeth Derczo
Benjamin Perez
filmpress@sxsw.com