SXSW Alumni Galore Among Gotham Award Nominees

Written by Jim Kolmar | Friday, Oct 25, 2013

The nominees for the annual Gotham Independent Film Awards were announced this week, and we were pleased to see plenty of SXSW alumni among their number. World premieres Gimme the Loot, Sun Don't Shine and Short Term 12 all received nods among the many other nomination, listed below.

In addition to films screened at SXSW, other nominees feature alumni talents like David Lowery and James M. Johnston (Ain't Them Bodies Saints), and Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club).

See the full list of SXSW films and filmmaker nominees below, and stay tuned to this blog to see who picks up awards when the winners are announced in December.

Best Feature:

Before Midnight
Richard Linklater, director.

Upstream Color
Shane Carruth, director.

Best Documentary

The Act of Killing
Joshua Oppenheimer, director/producer; Signe Byrge, producer.

The Crash Reel
Lucy Walker, director.

First Cousin Once Removed
Alan Berliner, director and producer.

Our Nixon (SXSW North American Premiere)
Penny Lane, director/producer; Brian L. Frye, producer.

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Adam Leon for Gimme the Loot (SXSW World Premiere).
Amy Seimetz for Sun Don’t Shine (SXSW World Premiere).

Best Actress

Scarlett Johansson for Don Jon
Brie Larson for Short Term 12 (SXSW World Premiere).
Amy Seimetz for Upstream Color.
Shailene Woodley in The Spectacular Now.