2018 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominations Include Numerous SXSW Alumni

As we celebrate our 25th edition, it's exciting to see many SXSW alumni whose work we first showed or supported throughout the years gaining recognition this awards season. Congratulations to all of our alumni nominated for an Independent Spirit Award.

Ana Asensio, Most Beautiful Island
Kris Avedisian, Kyle Espeleta, Jess Wakeman, Donald Cried
Sean Baker, The Florida Project
Ronald Bronstein, Benny & Josh Safdie, Good Time
Jonas Carpignaino, A Ciambra
Timothee Chalamet, Call Me By Your Name
James Franco, The Disaster Artist
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick
Geremy Jasper, Patti Cake$
David Lowery, A Ghost Story
Michael O’Shea, The Transfiguration
Jordan Peele, Get Out
Lynn Shelton , Annual Bonnie Award *Filmmaker Grant
Joshua Z. Weinstein, Menashe

Congratulations to all the nominees! For more information about our alums and their nominations click here. The ceremony will take place on March 3, 2018.

Join Us For SXSW 2018

Grab your Film Badge today for primary access to all SXSW Film events including world premieres, roundtables, workshops, and parties. Register to attend by Friday, January 12 and save. Book your hotel through SXSW Housing & Travel for the best available rates.

Stay tuned for the 2018 SXSW Film Festival lineup which will be announced in January.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and SXSW News for the latest SXSW coverage, announcements, and updates.

See you in March!

Festival Favorite screening of The Big Sick - Photo by Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images for SXSW

By Neha Aziz


Related News: