Gamechanger Award for Women Filmmakers to Debut at SXSW 2014

Written by Jim Kolmar | Monday, Feb 24, 2014

2013 Chicken & Egg award winner Hannah Fidell, courtesy Mark Davis/Getty ImagesEvery year, Chicken & Egg and SXSW Film honor women filmmakers at the festival with a special award, the Chicken & Egg Pictures Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award.

Recipients in the last few years have included Hannah Fidell (A Teacher, SXSW 2013), Megan Griffiths and Amy Seimetz (Eden and Sun Don’t Shine, both SXSW 2012) and 2014 Keynote Speaker Lena Dunham (Tiny Furniture, SXSW 2010).

We are delighted to report that Gamechanger films, “the first for-profit film fund dedicated exclusively to financing narrative features directed by women” has inherited the award, which will now be know as the Gamechanger Award.

The eligible films for SXSW 2014 are:

Sarah-Violet Bliss for Fort Tilden
Kat Candler for Hellion
Leigh Janiak for Honeymoon
Leah Meyerhoff for I Believe in Unicorns
Jen McGowan for Kelly & Cal
Gillian Robespierre for Obvious Child
Anja Marquardt for She's Lost Control
Liz Tuccillo for Take Care
Jocelyn Towne for We Will Never Have Paris.

Along with the majority of the Film Award categories, the Gamechanger Award winner will be announced at the SXSW Film Awards Ceremony, Tuesday, March 11 8:00PM at the Paramount Theatre. You will need a Film, Gold or Platinum badge to attend, so sign up here, and we hope to see you at the ceremony!

Photo of 2013 Chicken & Egg award winner Hannah Fidell, courtesy Mark Davis/Getty Images